14 Responses

  1. Jessica Christensen
    Jessica Christensen September 20, 2012 at 3:50 pm |

    Very insightful, well written review! I loved this book for many of the reasons you discussed: the parallels with Genesis, who was at fault, and the character development.

  2. Debbie Rodgers @Exurbanis
    Debbie Rodgers @Exurbanis September 20, 2012 at 7:22 pm |

    What an insightful review, Rebecca! I haven’t read this classic yet but I must soon. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. claire
    claire September 20, 2012 at 10:28 pm |

    Hi Rebecca! Missed you! It’s great to hear about the literary value of this book. Years ago, my sister bought a copy and read it and told me it wasn’t as scary as we thought and that it reads really well. I tried the first couple of pages and liked what I read. I don’t know why I didn’t continue. Probably was reading something else and decided to put it aside for the moment and forgot to come back to it. I must remember to read this some time.

    1. Rebecca Reid
      Rebecca Reid September 26, 2012 at 6:30 am |

      claire » I’m not a fan of scary myself, so I was pleasantly surprised by the depth I found in this book. I hope you enjoy it too!

  4. Salvador Kelvin
    Salvador Kelvin September 21, 2012 at 3:18 am |

    It’s a philosophical article. Really I don’t know about the meaning of life, because i don’t know from where I’ve come and why? So, we believe in God and it’s the reality.

  5. Natalie ~ the Coffee and a Book Chick
    Natalie ~ the Coffee and a Book Chick September 21, 2012 at 11:38 am |

    You’ve reminded me that it’s been much too long since last I read this. I will have to include this in my reading repertoire this fall.

    1. Rebecca Reid
      Rebecca Reid September 26, 2012 at 6:30 am |

      Natalie ~ the Coffee and a Book Chick » I’ll look forward to rereading it myself!

  6. Katrina
    Katrina September 22, 2012 at 1:41 pm |

    I read Frankenstein just a few years ago, I had really been avoiding it as I thought it wouldn’t be at all my thing but it turned out to be very different from what I had imagined. When the action turned to Edinburgh I was amazed and just had to visit St Bartholomew’s Well too.

    1. Rebecca Reid
      Rebecca Reid September 26, 2012 at 6:31 am |

      Katrina » I totally don’t remember St. Bartholomew’s well…but I too love it when books visit places I know!!

  7. Charlie
    Charlie September 23, 2012 at 11:24 am |

    I haven’t read the book, but I know how different my feelings were from my first introduction via my parents viewing the film (“horror story” they said, “don’t watch it”) to a BBC theatrical adaptation that introduced all of the humane qualities you describe. From what I saw and later read about the book, it is the creator who was the evil one as he left his creation to learn by himself. Yes, the monster was evil but he had no one for guidance. Regarding God, though, I’d say that’s different. He may leave us to our parents by the elders of society have experience and are willing to teach, so we don’t have to fend for ourselves, at least that’s the idea (if abandoned then of course it’s different).

    1. Rebecca Reid
      Rebecca Reid September 26, 2012 at 6:32 am |

      Charlie » the theatrical adaptation sounds a lot like what the book was. There was lots in it. And I should reinforce the fact that I too believe in God, I was just contemplating what Ms Shelley was suggesting.

  8. Katrina
    Katrina September 26, 2012 at 3:07 pm |

    Oops, it was St. Bernard’s Well, not Bartholmew, it’s near Edinburgh at the Water of Leith and does feature in the book briefly.

  9. Lindsey
    Lindsey September 27, 2012 at 6:38 pm |

    What a wonderful review Rebecca! It makes me want to reread this. I remember being surprised that it’s not a horror novel and that it’s so deep. It made me think about how we revile the monster, a freakish creation, yet doesn’t God probably think the same thing about us sometimes? Doesn’t He probably look down at us sometimes and wonder what kind of monster He created?

    1. Rebecca Reid
      Rebecca Reid October 3, 2012 at 7:45 pm |

      Lindsey » yes, I think this is a novel that will only impress more upon reread!!

Comments are closed.

Advertisement

%d bloggers like this: